X

Electrify America and Hubject collaborate to advance the future of EV charging

Will Bring Plug&Charge to More Than 2,000 High-Power Public Chargers by Year End

 

LOS ANGELES, CA. (January 8, 2019) — Electrify America and Hubject, a recognized leader in electric vehicle (EV) charging interoperability and “Plug&Charge” technology capabilities, today announced a strategic agreement that will allow people to pay for their electric vehicle charging simply by plugging in their vehicles.

Hubject will provide its expertise to Electrify America in a variety of areas surrounding the implementation of the global standard ISO 15118 into the North American market, the most prevalent functionality for what is commonly referred to as “Plug&Charge.” By bringing ISO 15118 to all Electrify America’s DC fast and home AC chargers, this technology is also the first step to enable EV smart charging and vehicle to grid (V2G) communications. It enables the vehicle to automatically authenticate and authorize a charging session using secure digital communication, eliminating the need for membership RFID cards, credit cards or mobile apps.

With Plug&Charge-enabled vehicles and infrastructure, an EV driver will simply plug the charger into the vehicle and the charging session will begin automatically. Electrify America will be the first DC fast charging network in the United States to provide this technology at its charging stations. Several automakers are beginning to add this capability in their cars.

Hubject was selected by Electrify America because of its expertise and a European track record of leading in eMobility technology initiatives, especially in the development of Plug&Charge support products and services.

“We are looking forward to supporting Electrify America with the implementation of ISO 15118 technology and our Plug&Charge ecosystem services,” said Paul Glenney, North American CEO of Hubject. “Our highest priority is to enable a premium EV customer experience to our partners and as the industry leader in Plug&Charge technology it is a natural fit that we would work together. This will make it easier to charge an EV than to use a gas pump.”

“Plug&Charge is a game-changing technology for consumers that will make their electric vehicle a virtual credit card when charging at our stations,” said Giovanni Palazzo, president and CEO at Electrify America. “Following a simple registration, the owners of electric vehicles with ISO 15118 capability will be able to plug into an Electrify America charger and it will automatically start a charge with Plug&Charge handling authentication and billing. A truly customer-focused feature.”

With a focus on both future and present-day electric vehicles, Electrify America’s charging systems have a range in power from 50kW, the most commonly used fast charging for electric vehicles today, up to 150kW and 350kW for its highway stations. All of those stations are prepared for Plug&Charge and will be updated with software later this year. The company will install more than 500 DC fast charging station sites in the United States by the end of 2019.

Additionally, Electrify America is also working with Hubject to test the ISO 15118 capability of electric vehicles and charging equipment manufacturers (EVSEs) to validate their cars and equipment on the Electrify America network to ensure a truly seamless Plug&Charge experience for drivers.

Hubject will begin work on Electrify America’s Plug&Charge initiative immediately.

 

Please find the press release PDF here

Download

 

About Electrify America

Electrify America LLC, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Volkswagen Group of America headquartered in Reston, VA and with an office in Pasadena, CA, is investing $2 billion over 10 years in Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) infrastructure, education, and access. The investment will enable millions of Americans to discover the benefits of electric driving and support the buildout of a nationwide network of workplace, community and highway chargers that are convenient and reliable. For more information, visit www.electrifyamerica.com.

HUBJECT — Heading for the future.

For more information on Hubject and its services, please visit hubject.com

 

Hubject PR Contacts
Alex Lundy/Will Brewer — JMPR Public Relations
alundy@jmpr.com
wbrewer@jmpr.com
(818) 992-4353

Electrify America Media Contact
Mike Moran
mike.moran@ElectrifyAmerica.com
(703) 872-7936

X

Hubject und Electrify America kooperieren: Willkommen in der Zukunft nahtlos vernetzter Ladeinfrastruktur

Einführung von Plug&Charge bei mehr als 2.000 öffentlichen Hochleistungsladestationen bis Jahresende

LOS ANGELES, Kalifornien (8. Januar 2019) — Electrify America und Hubject, ein anerkannter Marktführer für die Interoperabilität von Ladesystemen für Elektrofahrzeuge sowie die Plug&Charge-Technologie, haben heute eine strategische Partnerschaft angekündigt, die Menschen die Bezahlung ihrer EV-Ladevorgänge künftig durch einfaches Anstecken des Ladekabels ermöglichen soll.

Hubject wird Electrify America seine Expertise in verschiedenen Bereichen rund um die Implementierung des internationalen ISO-Standards 15118 auf dem nordamerikanischen Markt bereitstellen, dessen häufigste Anwendung allgemein als „Plug&Charge“ bekannt ist. Durch die Einführung des ISO 15118 an allen DC-Schnell- und AC-Heimladestationen von Electrify America ist diese Technologie auch der erste Schritt zur Ermöglichung des Smart-Ladens von Elektrofahrzeugen und der Fahrzeug-Netz-Kommunikation (V2G). Es ermöglicht dem Fahrzeug die automatische Authentifizierung und Autorisierung eines Ladevorgangs über eine sichere digitale Verbindung, wodurch die Notwendigkeit von Mitgliedschaften bei RFID-Karten, Kreditkarten oder mobilen Apps entfällt.

Plug&Charge-fähige Fahrzeuge und Infrastrukturen ermöglichen dem Fahrer eines Elektrofahrzeugs den Start und die Abrechnung des Ladevorgangs durch einfaches Einstecken des Ladekabels in das Fahrzeug. Electrify America wird das erste DC-Schnellladenetzwerk in den Vereinigten Staaten sein, dass diese Technologie an ihren Ladestationen anbieten wird. Verschiedene Autohersteller beginnen bereits mit der Integration dieser Funktion in ihren Fahrzeugen.

Hubject wurde von Electrify America aufgrund seiner Expertise und führenden Rolle bei Initiativen im Bereich der E-Mobilität in Europa – insbesondere bei der Entwicklung von Produkten und Services zu Plug&Charge – ausgewählt.

„Wir freuen uns darauf, Electrify America bei der Implementierung der ISO-15118-Technologie sowie unserer Plug&Charge-Ökosystemservices zu unterstützen“, so Paul Glenney, CEO von Hubject Nordamerika. „Unsere oberste Priorität ist die Schaffung eines Premiumerlebnisses für EV-Kunden über unsere Partner und als Branchenführer im Bereich der Plug&Charge-Technologie ist unsere Zusammenarbeit das ideale Match. Das Aufladen eines Elektrofahrzeugs wird fortan somit noch einfacher sein als das Bedienen einer Zapfsäule.“

„Plug&Charge ist eine bahnbrechende Technologie für Verbraucher, durch die ihr Fahrzeug zur virtuellen Kreditkarte beim Aufladen an unseren Stationen wird“, erklärt Giovanni Palazzo, Präsident und CEO von Electrify America. „Nach einer einfachen Registrierung können die Eigentümer von Elektrofahrzeugen mit ISO-15118-Funktion dieses ganz einfach an eine Ladestation von Electrify America anschließen, wobei automatisch ein Ladevorgang mit Abwicklung, Authentifizierung und Abrechnung über Plug&Charge gestartet wird – eine wahrlich kundenfreundliche Funktion.“

Die Ladesysteme von Electrify America sind mit einem Leistungsbereich zwischen 50 kW, der am häufigsten verwendeten Schnellladeleistung für Elektrofahrzeuge heute, und bis zu 150 kW und 350 kW an seinen Highway-Stationen sowohl auf zukünftige als auch aktuelle Elektrofahrzeugmodelle ausgerichtet. All diese Stationen sind auf Plug&Charge vorbereitet und werden im Verlauf dieses Jahres mit der entsprechenden Software aufgerüstet. Das Unternehmen plant, mehr als 500 Schnellladestationen mit Gleichstrom bis Ende 2019 in den USA zu installieren.

Darüber hinaus arbeitet Electrify America auch mit Hubject am Testen der ISO-15118-Fähigkeit von Elektrofahrzeugen und Ladeausrüstungsherstellern (EVSEs) zusammen, um deren Autos und Ausrüstung im Netzwerk von Electrify America in Hinsicht auf ein nahtloses Plug&Charge-Erlebnis für Fahrer zu beurteilen.

Hubject wird sofort mit der Arbeit an der Plug&Charge-Initiative von Electrify America beginnen.

 

Diese Pressemitteilung als PDF Download finden Sie hier:

Download

 

ÜBER ELECTRIFY AMERICA

Electrify America LLC, ein 100%iges Tochterunternehmen der Volkswagen Group of America, Inc. mit Hauptsitz in Reston, Virginia, und einer Niederlassung in Pasadena, Kalifornien, hat in den letzten 10 Jahren 2 Milliarden US-Dollar in die Schaffung und den Zugang zu einer ZEV-Infrastuktur sowie die Ausbildung in Bezug auf diese investiert. Diese Investition wird Millionen von Amerikanern die Vorteile der Elektromobilität näher bringen und den Ausbau eines nationalen Netzwerks an praktischen und zuverlässigen Ladestationen in Nähe von Arbeitsplätzen, Kommunen sowie Highways fördern.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter electrifyamerica.com

HUBJECT — Heading for the future.

Für weitere Informationen über Hubject und seine Dienstleistungen besuchen Sie bitte: hubject.com

 

Pressekontakte Hubject Inc.
Alex Lundy/Will Brewer — JMPR Public Relations
alundy@jmpr.com
wbrewer@jmpr.com
(818) 992-4353

Medienkontakt Electrify America
Mike Moran — Electrify America
mike.moran@ElectrifyAmerica.com
(703) 872-7936