X

Review: intercharge network conference 2018

The intercharge network conference 2018 Showcased New International Trends in the Field of Digital Mobility

For the sixth year in a row, electric mobility specialist Hubject brought together the most important players from the mobility, energy, and technology sectors at its own intercharge network conference (icnc) in early June 2018.

This year, more than 1,000 international participants from corporations, start-ups, science, politics, associations, and the media made their way to Berlin, which as a city itself is a showcase for digitalized mobility. The event’s slogan was “Two Days to Reinvent the Way We Move,” and against this backdrop, experts from three continents discussed the future of mobility. From electric mobility to autonomous driving, the connected car, and intelligent energy management systems – the conference’s range of topics grew significantly this year, reflecting the market’s tremendous growth.

By the way – anyone who has something to contribute to or wants to learn more about “Modern Mobility” can request an invitation to the next icnc. Simply send an email to icnc@hubject.com.

And for everyone who couldn’t make it to this year’s conference we will offer – for a small service fee – a range of videos with insights, interviews and panel recordings in the next weeks. So stay tuned for more. It will be well worth it.

 

“The technology will only be fully accepted when a car can drive autonomously in cities like Paris.”
– Lior Sethon, Mobileye, an Intel Company

 

Lior Sethon of Mobileye, an Intel Company and the market leader for autonomous driving, gave the opening keynote. Lior spoke about the rapid development of autonomous vehicles and the associated opportunities and risks. In his view, autonomous vehicles do not necessarily need a constant mobile internet connection, as many say is a requirement. Instead, the cars can operate independently and based on hyper-accurate maps.

Dr. Hang Yin of the State Grid Corporation of China – the world’s largest energy supplier – offered an in-depth look at his country, which is leading the world in the field of electric mobility. State Grid and other players are hard at work on expanding China’s charging infrastructure, and aim to achieve charging station coverage of 88 percent by 2020.

 

“By 2020, charging stations will cover 88% of the market in China.”
– Dr. Hang Yin, State Grid Corporation of China

Thomas Nindl of Qualcomm, the innovation leader in static and dynamic inductive charging, offered a glimpse into the future of wireless charging. During a test near Paris, two vehicles traveling at a speed of 120 km/h were charged with 20 kilowatts. During this process, the company analyzed driving both forward and reverse and driving dynamically onto and off of the charging coils. This method of charging on the road could be a solution to range issues.

The following panel also discussed easier charging. The gist of the discussion about the US charging infrastructure market was: “clever and quick.” Harmeet Singh of Greenlots, Dr. Rajit Gadh of the UCLA Smart Grid Energy Research Center, Eric Bach of Lucid Motors, and Obrie Hostetter of Hubject agreed in their analysis of trends in the charging sector that smart and high power charging will shape competition in the US market. As always, one state above all others wants to play a leading role here – California.

 

“We have to make things easier for the drivers. Innovations like Plug&Charge are a step in the right direction.”
– Dr. Rajit Gadh, UCLA

 

With the new “e-tron,” Audi is focusing specifically on making things easier. Dr. Alexander Schuller from Audi offered interesting insights from a automaker’s perspective into the Plug&Charge technology trend and the application of the associated ISO 15118 standard.

 

“As one of the first players to offer important components for the Plug&Charge ecosystem, Hubject plays a central role in the implementation and proliferation of the ISO 15118 standard.”
– Dr. Alexander Schuller, Audi

 

In the event’s final talk, Jan Aengenvoort from Next Kraftwerke, Andrei Rotaru from EnergiMine, and Val Miftakhov from eMotorWerks shed some light on what the world of energy would be like in the future, with aspects like trading green energy via blockchain, efficient grid utilization thanks to virtual power plants, and smart charging. Functional approaches already exist for many of these. However, it quickly became clear that there is more to a true transformation than just technology – without a progressive regulatory framework and profitable business models, the energy revolution isn’t going to work out.

 

 

Summary
The intercharge network conference (icnc) 2018 was a great success, and not just in terms of the numbers. With over 1,000 participants, it is the world’s largest conference on eMobility. The event once again resulted in numerous thought-provoking ideas and inspirations for the market. The term “Digital Mobility” has not yet fully been brought to life, however. The industry is traveling down an exciting path. The next progress report will be available no later than at the icnc 2019 in Berlin.

X

Review: intercharge network conference 2018

Die „intercharge network conference“ 2018 zeigt neue internationale Trends im Bereich digitale Mobilität.

Bereits zum sechsten Mal vernetzte der Elektromobilitätsspezialist Hubject die wichtigsten Player aus den Bereichen Mobilitäts-, Energie- und Technologiebranche auf der hauseigenen intercharge network conference (icnc).

Dieses Jahr fanden über 1.000 internationale Vertreter von Konzernen, Startups, Wissenschaft, Politik, Verbänden und Medien den Weg nach Berlin, welche als Stadt selbst ein Schaufenster für digitalisierte Mobilität ist. Unter dem Motto “Two Days to reinvent the Way we Move” diskutierten Fachleute aus drei Kontinenten, wie die Zukunft der Mobilität aussieht. Von Elektromobilität über autonomes Fahren, Connected Car und intelligente Energiemanagementsysteme – das Spektrum der Konferenz wurde dieses Jahr deutlich erweitert und spiegelt so das enorme Wachstum des Marktes wieder.

Übrigens: Jeder der etwas zum Thema “Moderne Mobilität” beizutragen hat oder dazu lernen möchte, kann sich unter icnc@hubject.com um eine Einladung zur nächsten icnc bewerben.

Und für alle die es – leider – nicht zur diesjährigen Konferenz geschafft haben, stellen wir in den kommenden Wochen – gegen eine kleine Servicegebühr – einer Reihe von Onlinevideos mit Insights, Interviews und Panelmitschnitten zu Verfügung. Daher: Dranbleiben – es lohnt sich.

 

“Erst wenn ein Auto selbständig in Städten wie Paris fahren kann, wird sich die Technologie durchsetzen.”
– Lior Sethon, Mobileye, an Intel Company

 

Die Auftaktkeynote kam von Lior Sethon von Mobileye, an Intel Company, dem Marktführer für autonomes Fahren. Lior referierte über die rasende Entwicklung der selbstfahrenden Fahrzeuge und die damit verbundenen Chancen und Risiken. Für das Funktionieren autonomer Fahrzeuge ist aus seiner Sicht der immer geforderte überall verfügbare mobile Internetzugang nicht zwingend notwendig. Die Autos agieren selbständig und basierend auf hypergenauem Kartenmaterial.

Dr. Hang Yin von der State Grid Corporation of China – dem größten Energieanbieter der Welt – ermöglichte einen intensiven Blick nach China, welches im Bereich der Elektromobilität weltweit führend ist. Hier arbeiten State Grid und andere Player mit Hochdruck am Ausbau der Ladeinfrastruktur und wollen im Jahr 2020 eine Ladesäulenabdeckung von 88 Prozent erreicht haben.

 

“Im Jahr 2020 werden Ladesäulen in China 88% des Marktes abdecken.”
– Dr. Hang Yin, State Grid Corporation of China

Einen Einblick in die Zukunft des kabellosen Ladens gab Thomas Nindl von Qualcomm, Innovationsführer im Bereich des statischen und dynamischen induktiven Ladens. Bei einem Test nahe Paris wurden zwei Fahrzeuge mit einer Geschwindigkeit von 120 km/h mit 20 Kilowatt geladen. Dabei wurde sowohl das Vorwärts- und Rückwärtsfahren sowie das dynamische Auf- und Abfahren auf die Ladespulen untersucht. Diese Art des Ladens unterwegs könnte eine Lösung für Reichweitenprobleme sein.

Über das einfachere Laden sprach auch das anschließende Panel. Schlau und schnell war die Quintessenz der Diskussion über den US-amerikanischen Ladeinfrastrukturmarkt. Bei der Trendanalyse im Charging-Sektor waren sich Harmeet Singh von Greenlots, Dr. Rajit Gadh vom UCLA Smart Grid Energy Research Center, Eric Bach von Lucid Motors und Obrie Hostetter von Hubject einig: Smart und High Power Charging werden den US-Wettbewerb maßgeblich prägen. Die Vorreiterrolle hat hier wie immer vor allem ein Bundesland für sich beansprucht: Kalifornien.

 

“Wir müssen es für die Fahrer einfacher machen. Innovationen wie Plug&Charge gehen in die richtige Richtung.”
– Dr. Rajit Gadh, UCLA

 

Audi setzt mit dem neuen “e-tron” genau auf diese Vereinfachung. Dr. Alexander Schuller von Audi gab interessante Einblicke aus der Automobilherstellerperspektive auf den Technologietrend Plug&Charge und die Verwendung der zugehörigen ISO 15118.

 

Hubject bietet  als einer der ersten Player wichtige Teile des Plug & Charge Ökosystems an. Damit übernimmt Hubject eine Schlüsselrolle bei der Umsetzung und Verbreitung des ISO 15118 Standards.”
– Dr. Alexander Schuller, Audi

 

Zum Abschluss beleuchteten Jan Aengenvoort von Next Kraftwerke, Andrei Rotaru von EnergiMine und Val Miftakhov von eMotorWerks die Energiewelt der Zukunft. Das Handeln von grüner Energie über Blockchain, effiziente Netzwerkauslastung dank virtueller Kraftwerke und Smart Charging. Zu vielem gibt es bereits funktionelle Ansätze. Schnell wurde aber klar: Zum tatsächlichen Shift gehört mehr als nur Technologie – ohne progressive regulatorische Rahmenbedingungen und profitable Geschäftsmodelle wird es nichts mit Energiewende.

 

 

Fazit
Die intercharge network conference (icnc) 2018 war ein großer Erfolg. Nicht nur was die Zahlen angeht. Sie ist mit über 1.000 Teilnehmern die weltgrößte Konferenz zu eMobility. Es gab auch wieder zahlreiche Denkanstöße und Impulse für den Markt. Der Begriff “digitale Mobilität” ist noch längst nicht abschließend mit Leben gefüllt. Die Branche befindet sich auch einem spannenden Weg. Den nächsten Zwischenstand gibt es spätestens beim icnc 2019 in Berlin.